I have waitressed, and been sexually harassed by bosses and customers. I have modeled for art classes, and watched students and teachers fuel their fantasies with my motionless body. I have worked in an office, and been stuck in a cubicle with a coworker who just could not grasp the hard fact that I preferred my woman lover over him. I have worked in the film industry, and felt myself a cog in a multimillion dollar machine that designs and markets “entertainment” around the sex-values of its stars. These all look like sex industries to me. I wondered : What is the difference between jobs within job systems that hypocritically deny the importance of sex to their smooth operation as opposed to those that exploit it as their very reason of operating ? If capitalism was structuring my work experiences, and if sexism was structuring roles within capitalism, what had I to lose by facing overt rather than covert realities ? I certainly had choice of not doing this particular work, but I never had a choice of not dealing with its existence

TRADUCTION
J’ai été serveuse, et été harcelée sexuellement par mes patrons et mes clients. J’ai été modèle pour des cours d’art, et vu les étudiants et les profs nourrir leurs fantasmes de mon corps immobile. J’ai travaillé dans un bureau, où j’étais coincée entre quatre murs avec un collègue qui n’arrivait pas à concevoir le fait que je puisse lui préférer mon amante. J’ai travaillé dans l’industrie du cinéma, et je me suis sentie comme un petit maillon dans une machine multimillionnaire qui crée du ‘divertissement’ sur la base de la valeur sexuelle de ses stars. A mes yeux, ces industries sont toutes des industrie du sexe. Je me suis demandé : ‘Quelle est la différence entre des jobs dans des systèmes de travail qui nient hypocritement l’importance du sexe dans leur fonctionnement, et celles qui exploitent le sexe comme la raison même de leur fonctionnement ?’ J’avais clairement le choix de faire ou ne pas faire ce job en particulier, mais je n’ai jamais eu le choix de ne pas avoir à faire face à l’existence de cette réalité.

Vicky Funary, “Naked, Naughty, Nasty”, in Jill NAGLE, Whores and other feminists, Routledge, 1997, p. 19-20

Tagué:, , , , , ,

Laisser un commentaire

